About US


The IPA was established in 1892. it is registered under the Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860 (Punjab Amendment) Act 1957 as extended to the Union Territory of Delhi. The registered office of the association is co-located with the 'B' Squadron, 61 Cavalry, Delhi Cantt-110010.

Aims And Objectives

The objectives of the Association are:
   To govern the game of Horse Polo in India.
   To propagate the game and its bye laws in Conjunction with the Federation of International Polo.
   To aid and promote this game both Nationally and Internationally.


The IPA is the Governing Body of Polo in India and is responsible for all laws regulating the game. It is the final authority of appeal in all matters relating to polo and is empowered to amend or, annul the existing laws of the game or, to frame new rules. The IPA is affiliated to the Federation of International Polo (FIP).

Management Of The Association

The affairs of the IPA are managed by the Office Bearers and a body of Stewards constituted biennially at a General Body Meeting which is held sometime in May/June. This is in accordance with the Memorandum and Rules and Regulations of the IPA.


For function and administrative requirement, IPA has the following committees:
   Handicapping & Rules Committee
     The members of the Handicapping Committee are nominated by the Stewards annually.
     The members of the Handicapping Committee are nominated by the Stewards annually.
     The committee is responsible to allot handicaps to all players.
     The Handicapping Committee meets annually sometime in May/June at the end of the IPA Polo Calendar and if required during the mid season.
     The revised handicaps are effective from 1st Aug.
   Selection Committee
     A Selection Committee is nominated by the Stewards as per requirement.

Assistant Secretary

Mr. Lal Chand is the Assistant Secretary of the IPA.

Affiliated Clubs

At present 33 clubs are affiliated to the IPA. Affiliation fee is Rs. 20000/- per annum.


All individuals playing polo have to be members of the IPA through a parent club. Membership fee is Rs. 2,000/- per annum.

Polo Calendar

The polo year is from 1 Jul to the 30 Jun of the next year. Polo tournaments in India are played under the aegis of the IPA at various centers. The polo calendar is finalised by the Stewards every year.

Categorization Of Centers

Polo centers have been classified in three categories on the number of players, polo ponies, polo ground, and popularity of the game in those areas as under:
Cat ‘A’ : Delhi, Jaipur, Bombay and Jodhpur
Cat ‘B’ : Hyderabad, Calcutta, Bangalore, Madras and Dehra Dun
Cat ‘C’ : Manipur, Ladakh, Meerut and Patiala

Fee For Conducting Polo

The fee for conducting polo as per categorization of centers is as under:
Cat ‘A’ : Rs. 60,000/- per week
Cat ‘B’ : Rs. 15,000/- per week
Cat ‘C’ : Exempted


The accounts of the association are maintained by IPA and the accounting year is from 1st April to 31st March. The accounts are audited by the nominated Chartered Accountants. The accounts are presented and ratified in the AGM.


The association has four Trophies. These are “The President’s Cup”, “The IPA Championship”, “Indian Masters Cup“ and “Junior National Championship”. The president’s cup is played in rotation at a polo center decided by the Stewards every year. The Junior National Championship is played annually during Feb/Mar polo season in Delhi. The IPA Championship & Indian Master Cup are played annually during Nov polo season in Delhi.